1909 - The Year in Brief

During 1909 there was one new section of line opened in Queensland between Caboolture and Woodford. This was a branch line off the North Coast Line which was ultimately extended to Kilcoy.

Several changes occurred to the Ordinary Staff & Ticket sections, some were again temporary due to the annual Sugar Season, however there were permanent changes to improve train operations and provide better facilities at towns as they developed. Some alterations to the Ordinary Staff & Ticket sections were listed as temporary however they ultimately became permanent.

The Electric Staff system grew as well as the new technology continued to be introduced into Queensland.

Two new signal cabins opened during the year and one was closed. There were signalling alterations at other interlocked stations, as well as numerous signalling changes at non-interlocked stations.

New Lines Opened

Caboolture to Woodford		
Ordinary Staff & Ticket - New Sections		
 Gladstone - Gladstone Jetty 	OS	blue round
• Caboolture - Ballast Pit (12m60ch)	OS	blue round
Ballast Pit - Woodford	OS	yellow half diamond
Ordinary Staff & Ticket - Altered		
• Dingo - Bluff	OS	red diamond (was Dingo - Walton)
Bluff - Blackwater	OS	white square (was Walton-Blackwater)
Cloncurry - Gilliatt	OS	white square (was Cloncurry-Oorindi)
Ordinary Staff & Ticket - Opening Temporary Sections		
Gladstone - Boyne Valley Junction	OS	white square
Boyne Valley Junction - Mt Larcom	OS	blue diamond
North Bundaberg - Bingera	OS	blue round
Bingera - Gin Gin	OS	red diamond
Gin Gin - Tirroan	OS	white square
Tirroan - Mt Perry	OS	yellow half-diamond
Childers - Huxley	OS	red diamond
Huxley - Cordalba	OS	blue round
 North Bundaberg - Meadowvale 	OS	white square
Meadowvale - Avondale	OS	green round
Gympie - Curra	OS	blue round
Curra - Kilkivan Junction	OS	white square
Morven - Angellala	OS	blue round
Angellala - Charleville	OS	white square
Mitchell - Mungallala	OS	blue round
Mungallala - Morven	OS	red diamond
Ordinary Staff & Ticket - Closing Temporary Sections		
North Bundaberg - Gin Gin	OS	blue round (resumed)
Gin Gin - Mt Perry	OS	white square (resumed)
North Bundaberg - Avondale	OS	white square (resumed)
2		• · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·

•	North Bundaberg - Gin Gin	OS	blue round (resumed)
•	Gin Gin - Mt Perry	OS	white square (resumed)
•	North Bundaberg - Avondale	OS	white square (resumed)
•	Childers - Cordalba	OS	red diamond (resumed)

Ordinary Staff & Ticket - Divided Sections (permanent)		
 Miles - Dulacca 	OS	red diamond
Dulacca - Yeulba	OS	white square
 Nankin Junction - Sliepner Junction 	OS	yellow diamond
Sliepner Junction - Emu Park	OS	blue round
Sliepner Junction to Mt Chalmers	OS	white square
 Munbilla - Boonah 	OS	white square
Boonah - Dugandan	OS	blue round
Emu Vale - Tannymorel	OS	white square
Tannymorel - Killarney	OS	blue round
 Mareeba - Tolga 	OS	blue round
Tolga - Atherton	OS	white square

Ordinary Staff & Ticket - Minor Alterations

- Toowoomba (staff and ticket working from signal cabin instead of station)
- Mungar Junction (lockup train staff box provided)
- Tiaro (lockup train staff box provided)
- Miles (lockup train staff box provided)
- Dulacca (lockup train staff box provided)

lectric Staff - New Sections		
 Northgate Junction - Zillmere 	ES	letter "A" (two-column 30 staffs)
Zillmere - Bald Hills	ES	letter "B" (two-column 30 staffs)
Bald Hills - North Pine	ES	letter "C" (two-column 30 staffs)
lectric Staff - Alterations		
Hendon - Toolburra	ES	(no head), lettered A
Toolburra - Millhill	ES	round head (opening Millhill)
Millhill - Killarney Junction	ES	diamond head (opening Millhill)
Killarney Junction - Warwick	ES	round head

Signalling - New Cabins Commissioned

• Vulture Street, Boyne Valley Junction

Signalling - Existing Cabins Altered

Gowrie Junction, Vulture Street, Ipswich, Central, Pengarry Junction, South Brisbane, Newmarket, Mayne Junction, Bowen Hills, Yeerongpilly, Laidley, Emerald, Croydon Junction, Monkland,

Signalling - Existing Cabins Decommissioned

• Gloucester Street

Signalling - Alterations

Croydon Junction, Meana (Pinkenba Line), Jericho (Central Line), Howard (North Coast Line), Bullyard (Mt Perry Branch), Inglewood (South Western Line), Biggenden (Mungar/Monto Line), Walterhall (Mt Morgan Line), Mayne Junction, Bowen Hills, Miriam Vale, St. Helens (20m10ch Ipswich Line), Caboolture, Gootchie

Telegraph Instruments - Additional

• Boyne Valley Junction, Kingsthorpe, Southbrook, Dulacca, Sliepner Junction, Tannymorel, Curra, Murgon

Telegraph Instruments - Temporary

Bingera, Huxley, Meadowvale, Angellala, Mungallala

Telegraph Instruments - Closure of temporary telegraph stations

• Bingera, Meadowvale, Porphyry, Huxley

Telegraph Instruments - Removed

• New Zealand Gully, Oorindi

Telegraph Circuits - Alterations

• Rockhampton, Rockhampton Town Office, Archer Park, North Rockhampton, Lakes Creek, Nankin Junction, Broadmount, Yeppoon Junction, Emu Park, Yeppoon, Mount Morgan Town Office, Mount Morgan, Walterhall, Moongan, Moonmera, Boongary, Kabra, Maryborough, Croydon Junction, Mungar Junction, Tiaro, Gundiah, Kilkivan Junction, Gympie Town Office, Gympie, Kilkivan Town Office, Kilkivan, Goomeri, Wondai Town Office, Wondai, Kingaroy Town Office, Kingaroy, Roma Street, Northgate Junction, Zillmere, Bald Hills, Strathpine, North Pine, Caboolture, Landsborough, Palmwoods, Woombye, Nambour, Yandina, Cooroy, Cooran, Monkland, Nashville, Gympie, Maryborough, Bundaberg, Gladstone, Gladstone Town Office, Boyne Valley Junction, Mount Larcom, Raglan, Marmor

Telephones - Additional

 Nundah, Gatton, Redbank/Dinmore, Laidley, Stanthorpe, Clifton, Blackall, Cabbage-tree, Toowoomba, Childers, Mackay Railway, Marian, Newbury Junction, Gargett,

Stations/Sidings - New

• Thulimbah (Southern Line), 52m65ch (Atherton Line), Woodend (Central Line), Eurella (351m77ch Western Line), Doomben (6m8ch Pinkenba Line), 48m30ch (Gayndah Branch), 15m70ch (Cleveland Line), 115m47ch (Great Northern Railway), 47m54ch (Kilkivan Branch), Caledonian Colliery (31m27ch Main Line), 55m1ch (Brisbane Valley Branch near Esk), 3m25ch (Woodford Branch), 6m32ch (Woodford Branch), 8m56ch (Woodford Branch), 14m54ch (Woodford Branch), Woodford (17m8ch), St. Helens (20m10ch Ipswich Line), 15m15ch (Blackall Branch)

Stations/Sidings - Named or Named Changed

• 10½ Miles (Bell Branch) named Moffatt, Allawonga (464m37ch Cloncurry Line) renamed Kaampa, Calabra (469m30ch Cloncurry Line) renamed Yurbi, New Zealand Gully Junction (Yeppoon Line) renamed Sliepner Junction, Almaden (Chillagoe Line) renamed Alma-den, Sliepner Junction, Racecourse Siding (Mackay Siding) renamed Ooralea, Ginoon (75m66ch Gayndah Branch) changed back to Byrnestown, 76m23ch (Main Line) named Lockyer, 11m60ch (Mt Morgan Line) named Kirkhall, Dunblane (Goondiwindi Line) renamed Yuraraba

Stations/Sidings - Status Changed

 Toonda (North Coast Line), 15m15ch (Springsure Line), Boyne Valley Junction (North Coast Line), Tannymorel (Killarney Branch), Eurella, Murgon, Gooburrum, Kaimkillenbun, Oorindi, Curra, Bingera, Tirroan, Meadowvale,

Stations/Sidings - Alterations

 Don (Bowen Railway), Woodhill (Beaudesert Branch), Koolboo (Mount Perry Line), Spring Creek (Central Railway), Barghool

Stations/Sidings - Closed

• 349m22ch (Western Line),

Safeworking - General

- Rule 89 (Shunting Isolated Sidings) amended for Mackay Railway
- Vulture Street (on Sundays the SM must put the signals to "danger" until the train has gone)

Level Crossings - Alterations

• Coorparoo (gate signal fixed on the second level crossing on the Cleveland side)

Signal Cabins in Use (* indicates additional)

 Ayr Junction, Boyne Valley Junction*, Central, Charters Towers, Gowrie Junction, Hughenden, Ipswich, Maryborough, Mt Larcom, Park Road, Pengarry Junction, Ravenswood Junction, Rockhampton, Roma Street, South Brisbane, Toowoomba, Townsville, Vulture Street*, Warwick